'ELECTRICAL TECHNICAL ADVISORY COMMITTEE TELECONFERENCE MEETING FROM TALLAHASSEE

PLEASE JOIN MY MEETING FROM YOUR COMPUTER, TABLET OR SMARTPHONE

HTTPS://GLOBAL.GOTOMEETING.COM/JOIN/533378925

UNITED STATES (TOLL FREE): 1 877 309 2073 ACCESS CODE: 533-378-925

> September 13, 2024 2:00 P.M.

Minutes

ELECTRICAL TAC PRESENT:

Jim Schock, ChairmanJohn HallLarry Wildermuth for Neal BurdickBryan HollandKen CastronovoJoseph TerritoShane GerwigClarence Tibbs

ELECTRICAL TAC NOT PRESENT:

Vince Della Croce David Rice Roy Van Wyk

STAFF PRESENT:

Mo MadaniJustin VogelNorman BellamyJim HammersSabrina EvansAlan BurkeMarlita PetersJoe Bigelow

MEETING FACILITATION:

The meeting was facilitated by Jeff Blair from Facilitated Solutions, LLC. Consultation, Process Design & Facilitation. Information at: facilitatedsolutions.org

Electrical TAC June 24, 2024 Page 2

Time: 2:00 p.m.

Mr. Blair welcomed everyone to the meeting of the Electrical TAC.

Mr. Blair stated that Chairman Bourré appointed Commissioner Schock as Chairman of the Electrical TAC

Roll Call:

Mr. Blair performed roll call for the Electrical TAC. A quorum was determined with 8 members present at roll call.

To review the 2024 changes to the International Building (I-Codes) and provide recommendations to the Commission regarding those changes, as applicable:

Mr. Blair provided a brief overview of the code review process for the meeting.

Mr. Madani provided an overview of the tracking chart and detail report for the TAC.

E11060

Public Comment:

Joe Belcher, FHBA, FICAP, and MAF, provided a comment and spoke in opposition to modification E11060.

John Barber, Windemuller Technical Service representing Heary Brother Lightning Preventor of America based in New York, provided a comment and spoke in opposition to modification E11060.

Joseph Salzverg, Law Firm of Gray Robinson representing National Lightning Protection Cooperation, provided a comment and spoke in opposition to modification E11060.

Jennifer Hatfield, National Lightning Protection Cooperation, provided a comment and spoke in opposition to modification E11060.

Motion:

Mr. Castronovo entered a motion to place the modification on the consent agenda for denial based on it discriminating against products and being anti-competitive. Commissioner Schiffer seconded the motion.

Discussion:

Mr. Holland provided a comment in opposition to the motion.

Electrical TAC June 24, 2024 Page 3

Mr. Madani provided a comment.

Mr. Holland provided a comment.

Motion Continued:

The motion was passed unanimously with a vote of 7 to 1. (Bryan Holland)

E11673

Motion:

Mr. Gerwig entered a motion to place the modification on the consent agenda for approval as submitted. Mr. Holland seconded the motion. The motion was passed unanimously with a vote of 8 to 0.

E10956

Public Comment.

Jennifer Hatfield, BOAF, provided a comment in opposition to modification E10956.

Motion:

Mr. Wildermuth entered a motion to place the modification on the consent agenda for denial based on the overlap rationale and already being in the NEC. Mr. Gerwig seconded the motion. The motion was passed unanimously with a vote of 8 to 0.

E10689

Public Comment.

Jennifer Hatfield, BOAF, provided a comment in opposition to modification E10689.

Joe Belcher, FHBA, spoke in opposition to modification E10689.

Motion:

Mr. Territo entered a motion to place the modification on the consent agenda for approval as submitted and consistent with NFPA 99. Mr. Holland seconded the motion.

Discussion:

Members of the TAC went into discussion with questions and comments.

Electrical TAC June 24, 2024 Page 4

Motion Continued:

The motion passed with a vote of 6 to 2. (Shane Gerwig and Clarence Tibbs)

E11422

Public Comment:

Joe Belcher, FHBA, spoke in opposition to modification E11422.

Motion:

Mr. Hall entered a motion to place the modification on the consent agenda for approval as submitted and based on it being an NEC issue. Mr. Castronovo seconded the motion.

Discussion:

Mr. Gerwig provided a comment in opposition to the motion.

Bryan Holland, NEMO, spoke in support of modification E11422.

Motion Continued:

The motion was passed with a vote of 6 to 2. (Shane Gerwig and Jim Schock)

E11486

Motion:

Mr. Holland entered a motion to place the modification on the consent agenda for approval as submitted, based on it aligning the IRC with Standard 855. Mr. Gerwig seconded the motion.

Discussion:

Members of the TAC went into discussion with questions and comments.

Motion Continued:

The motion failed with a vote of 5 to 3. (Ken Castronovo, John Hall, and Larry Wildermuth)

The modification will be deemed to be recommended for denial, as there were insufficient votes to recommend its approval.

Discussion:

Electrical TAC
June 24, 2024
Page 5
_

Members of the TAC went into discussion with questions and comments.

Other TAC Business:

None.

Public Comment:

None.

Member and Staff Comment:

None.

Adjourn:

There being no further business before the Committee, Chairman Schock adjourned the meeting at 3:06 p.m.